Skip To Main Content

Main Container Header

Saint Thomas Academy Seniors Commended in 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program

Saint Thomas Academy seniors Will Gage of Edina (Country Club), Joe Kolar of Edina (Country Club), Jack MapelLentz of West Saint Paul, Matthew Nelson of Inver Grove Heights, Charlie Treacy of Saint Paul (Mac-Groveland) and Joe Sabre of Edina have been named Commended Students in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The seniors entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). They were named Commended Students based on a nationally applied Selection Index score.

Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

About NMSC
NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.