Main Container Header

Upper Container Header

Mobile Toggle Element

Saint Thomas Academy to Cut Ribbon on Nearly $6 Million in Campus Improvements Completed During Summer 2021

Just in time for the first day of school on Tuesday, Aug. 31, Saint Thomas Academy Headmaster Kelby Woodard and the Board of Trustees will hold a ribbon-cutting ceremony to mark the completion of a nearly $6-million campus improvement project that began in May.

The school undertook the massive renovation project to update its legacy buildings, which hadn’t been significantly updated since the campus opened in 1965. Dubbed Summer Splash ’21, the project overhauled Founders Hall, the original building on campus, with new, larger classrooms, new lockers, an elevator to make the campus entirely handicap accessible and a much-welcomed, upgraded HVAC system. What was previously the main office is now a new common area for students, a conference room and the headmaster’s office. The main office, admissions and marketing have a new home in Flynn Hall, which will serve as the main entrance to campus.

The project also made way for the Institute of Science and Engineering, with the Academy’s Innovation Center at the center. The Institute will have new classrooms, lab space and the latest technologies, and strengthens the Academy's capabilities to prepare students for successful engineering careers after graduation. Opened in 2017, the Innovation Center allows students to ideate, evaluate and fabricate working prototypes with the latest technologies to address multi-faceted problems in capstone-type projects.

The parking area and roundabout in front of Founders Hall have been removed to create a vehicle-free, grass quad space that will be used for daily formation, events, and outdoor eating area and classroom space. (See attached photo.)

This year’s renovations are phase I; phase II is planned for the summer of 2022.

WHEN:    Monday, Aug. 30 at 10 a.m.


Saint Thomas Academy
949 Mendota Heights Road
Mendota Heights, Minn. 55120



Kelby Woodard, Headmaster of Saint Thomas Academy
Saint Thomas Academy Board of Trustees